Jacob Young

The Band


After releasing three albums on local labels he gained attention as a jazzguitarist and as a composer of modern melodic and lyrical jazzmusic. Eventually this musics reputation expanded, and in 2002 it reached Manfred Eicher and ECM records. He became interested in recording Jacobs original music in a quintet setting with guitar trio and two horns. Jacob formed his new group with trumpeter Mathias Eick, bass clarinet sax player Vidar Johansen, bassist Mats Eilertsen and master drummer Jon Christensen. Together they recorded “Evening Falls” for ECM and Jacob was launched as an international jazz artist in 2004. Concerts in Europe and Asia followed and another quintet album for ECM titled “Sideways” was released in 2008. This album also gained worldwide attention and confirmed his standing as a talent to watch. Both domestic and International reviews where enthusiastic.
        In 2013 he formed a new group with Polish musicians; Marcin Wasilewski, Slawomir Kurkiewicz, Michal Meskiewicz and Norwegian sax player Trygve Seim. They recorded Jacob´s third album for Manfred Eicher´s ECM the critically acclaimed “Forever Young” released in 2014. Tours in the US and Europe followed.